My Digital Universe

Top 5 Formula 1 Teams

Two Santander-sponsored Formula 1 races, Santander British Grand Prix (June 28-30) at Silverstone and Grosser Preis Santander Von Deutschland (July 6-7) at Nurburgring in Germany, will provide the top teams an opportunity to edge closer to the coveted season championship at the season’s midpoint.

Those teams include Ferrari with Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa, sponsored by European-based banking giant, Santander.

In addition to the Ferrari racing team, Santander sponsors the McLaren team drivers.

Here are the top five teams and points in this year’s competition:

Red Bull (201 points)

The team made their grand prix debut in 2005. The Red Bull driving prodigy, Sebastian Vettel, is a key figure in this team that has won the World Championship in the past three seasons. Vettel graduated from the Red Bull Junior squad and made his debut for Red Bull Racing in 2009. Since then, he has 29 wins for the team.

Drivers: Sebastian Vettel (132 points) and Mark Webber (69).

Ferrari (145)

Santander sponsored Ferrari team’s first season was in 1950, with the beginning of Formula 1 World Championship. Ferrari has won 16 championships since then, with the last coming in 2007. Since then, the team has had three near misses – the latest in 2010 with Fernando Alonso. A technical reorganization and Alonso’s performance last year – he finished second to Vettel by three points – makes this season an interesting one for Ferrari.

Drivers: Fernando Alonso (96) and Felipe Massa (49).

Mercedes (134)

The team has not won a championship since their first Formula 1 season in 2010. With the arrival of Lewis Hamilton, 2008 champion, the team is under increased pressure for good results. Even though the team’s chassis, the F1 W04 was proven to be fast, tire wear issues because of the chassis may hinder the team’s performance this year. Hamilton has been playing second fiddle to teammate Nico Rosberg, who won the Grand Prix De Monaco.

Drivers: Lewis Hamilton (77) and Nico Rosberg (57).

Lotus (114)

Since its first season in 1981, the team has managed to win two world championships. The team’s personnel have experience winning titles with Fernando Alonso, when Alonso was a part of Lotus before joining Santander-sponsored Ferrari. The team’s tight budget seems to be a limitation, but they remain a major force in the championship run.

Drivers: Kimi Räikkönen (88) and Romain Grosjean (26).

McLaren (37)

McLaren entered Formula 1 in 1966 and have won eight constructors’ and 12 drivers’ world championships. This year, they have gone against the wind by designing a completely new car. McLaren team’s performance without Lewis Hamilton, who will be racing for team Mercedes, remains to be seen as the season continues to unfold.

Drivers: Jenson Button (25) and Sergio Pérez (12).

To read more about Formula 1 history, click here:

To read about this year’s top competitors, click here: